How to avoid being like AMAV Venky during Oscar discussions

Oscars tho manaki peddaga sambandam ledu. But Posh people vaati gurinchi maatladinappudu to avoid AMAV Venky kind of situations, here are the basics.

What are Oscars?

The Academy Awards, or “Oscars“, is a group of twenty-four artistic and technical honors given annually by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS)

How is Voting done?

Academy membership is divided into different branches, with each representing a different discipline in film production. Actors constitute the largest voting bloc, numbering 1,311 members (22 percent) of the Academy’s composition. Votes have been certified by the auditing firm PricewaterhouseCoopers for the past 83 annual awards ceremonies.

What is the eligibility criteria?

A film must open in the previous calendar year, from midnight at the start of January 1 to midnight at the end of December 31, in Los Angeles County, California and play for seven consecutive days, to qualify (except for the Best Foreign Language Film). Foreign films must include English subtitles, and each country can submit only one film per year.

What is the current venue?

The Dolby Theatre in Los Angeles has been the venue since 2002.

Has anyone from India won so far?

Bhanu Athaiya – Best Costume Design (Gandhi,1983)

Sathyajit Ray – Honarary Award (1992)

Best Sound Mixing – Rasool Pesukutty (Slumdog Millionaire, 2009)

Best Original Score – A.R.Rahman (Slumdog Millionaire, 2009)

Best Original Song – A.R. Rahman and Gulzar (Slumdog Millionaire, 2009)

What are this year’s updates?

Best Actor – Casey Affleck (Manchester by the Sea). He is the brother of the more famous Ben Affleck.

Best Actress – Emma Stone (La La Land). This film also won 5 more awards for best director, cinematography,music score, original song and Production.

Best Supporting Actor – Mahershala Ali(Moonlight). He is the first muslim to win the Oscar.

Best Film – Moonlight. There was a gaffe here, initially it was announced that La La Land has won the award. But later the audience were told that the actual winner is Moonlight and it was the case of wrong envelope shown to announcers.

Mana award functions lo stage paiki oke saari 40-50 members ekkuthaaru, unorganized ga untaaru, without preperation maatladuthaaru etc, but ilaanti silly mistakes we never did. Anyway, with the above details you will be like…

Rock on!

Related Posts

Super Sad Feeling – Wish Ctrl+Z Exists

Antha Telugumayam

Super Telugu Playlist – Valentines Day

Facebook Comments

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked (required)